Three Of The Very Best Egyptian Football Players That Ever Played

For quite some time Egyptian football players have enjoyed virtual domination at the African Cup Of Nations. This soccer tournament was first launched in 1957 with just 3 teams participating. That has since expanded to incorporate many more countries and now this tournament that is played every two years, also has qualifying stages.

The final consists of 4 groups of 4, and the top two teams from each group qualify to the next round known as the knock out stages. Egypt have won the final a record 7 times, and with African clubs such as Al-Ahly and Zamalek whom many consider to be the most consistent around, it's time to take a look at three of the very best Egyptian Football players ever, starting with number 3, leading to the all time number 1.

3. Ahmed Hassan

Ahmed Hassan has played more games for Egypt than any other player. He has been capped for his country 179 times. From 1996-2010 he appeared for the Pharaohs in the Africa Cup of Nations 8 consecutive times, and was a winner 4 times in 2010, 2008, 2006, and 1998. In 2010 and 2006, he was in the team of the tournament, also being voted as most valuable player.

2. Mahmoud El-Khatib

Mahmoud El-Khatib known as Bibo, spent 16 years playing for Al-Ahly. In securing 10 league titles for his club, along with three African Cup Winners Cups and 2 African Champion League titles, he scored in excess of 100 goals. He represented his country in the 1984 Summer Olympics, and also played in the 1986, 1984, and 1980 African Cup of Nations. In 1986, he was in Egypt's cup winning side and when selected for the 1980 team, was in the CAF team of the tournament. In 1983, Mahmoud El-Khatib was voted African Footballer Of The Year.

1. Hossam Hassan

Hossam Hassan played for Zamalek and Al'Ahly as well as other clubs. He won thirteen titles in the Egyptian league, won the African Cup Winners Cup four times, along with the CAF Champions League two times. He has appeared in the Africa Cup of Nations seven times in 2006,2002,2000,1998,1992,1988 and 1986 and won the cup three times in 2006, 1998 and 1986 along with playing for the Pharaohs in the Italia '90 World Cup.